ANSI/IACET 2018-1 Standard for Continuing Education and Training

The ANSI/IACET Standard for Continuing Education and Training defines a proven model for developing effective and valuable continuing education and training (CE/T) programs.

Because the ANSI/IACET Standard focuses on how continuing education and training programs are developed, not what they cover, it provides a framework of best practices that can be applied across disciplines and industries.

What Does the Standard Measure?

The ANSI/IACET Standard measures all aspects of a CE/T provider’s program development across nine internationally recognized categories:

  1. Organization, Responsibility and Control
  2. Learning Environment and Support Systems
  3. Planning and Instructional Personnel
  4. Needs Analysis
  5. Learning Outcomes
  6. Content and Instructional Requirements
  7. Assessment of Learning Outcomes
  8. Awarding the IACET CEU and Maintaining Learner Records
  9. Evaluation of Learning Events

Purchase the Standard and Application Bundle now.

The standard categories, as illustrated in the model below, provide organizations with the framework to adhere to quality continuing education and training practices.

A systematic approach to identifying and analyzing learning needs, the ANSI/IACET Standard helps CE/T providers:

  • Establish an appropriate responsibility and control system
  • Encourage an analytic approach to identifying and analyzing learning needs
  • Design, plan and execute a quality learning event
  • Establish appropriate assessment criteria based on the learning outcomes
  • Monitor and improve the learning process in order to achieve its objectives

The ANSI/IACET Standard also emphasizes the importance of continually reviewing and improving education and training, to ensure the development of quality programs that meet consumer needs.

Why the Standard Matters

Within a competitive marketplace, it pays to align your organization and its CE/T programs with the name synonymous for quality in continuing education. The ANSI/IACET Standard is recognized as the official standard for CE/T, with a corresponding reputation for excellence.

This reputation extends to IACET Accredited Providers. Only IACET APs can offer IACET CEUs. And only IACET CEUs communicate to employers, licensing authorities, certification bodies and others that a CE/T program meets the highest standards.

Purchase your copy of the ANSI/IACET Standard and Application Bundle today.

Comprehensive Standards Support

IACET was recognized as an ANSI-Accredited standards developing organization (SDO) in 2006. As an SDO, IACET’s Council on Standards Development provides a method to assure that suggestions for improvement, questions from users of the standard, or requests for interpretations of the standard are handled in a fair and consistent manner. Suggestions for improvement or questions concerning the standard are reviewed by the Council on Standards Development.

Submit a written request for an official interpretation of a standard category or element.


Social Media